Rice University
BioSciences at Rice
Graduate Program Affiliations noted by
BCB (Biochemistry & Cell Biology)
EEB (Ecology & Evolutionary Biology)
SSPB (Systems, Synthetic & Physical Biology)
BioSciences Faculty
bartel Bonnie Bartel
Ralph and Dorothy Looney Professor
BCB
713-348-5602
bartel@rice.edu
W300D George R. Brown Hall
Beckingham Kathleen M. Beckingham
Professor
BCB
713-348-4016
kate@rice.edu
W130 George R. Brown Hall
Sarah Bengston
Huxley Fellow
sarah.bengston@rice.edu
George N. Bennett
E. Dell Butcher Professor
BCB/SSPB
713-348-4920
gbennett@rice.edu
813 Biosci Res Collaborative
MatthewBennett
Matthew Bennett
Associate Professor
BCB/SSPB
713-348-4161
matthew.bennett@rice.edu
306 Keck Hall
Bhattacharjee Meenakshi Banerjee Bhattacharjee
Faculty Fellow
Executive Director of
Applied Algal Research

713-348-3843
meenakshi.b.bhattacharjee@rice.edu
137E Anderson Biological Labs
Braam Janet Braam
Wiess Professor
Department Chair

BCB
713-348-4277
braam@rice.edu
W100C George R. Brown Hall
Carson Dan Carson
Professor and Schlumberger Chair
of Advanced Studies & Research

713-348-3347
BCB
Daniel.D.Carson@rice.edu
1023 BRC
amydunham Amy Dunham
Assistant Professor
EEB
713-348-2792
aed4@rice.edu
103B Anderson Biological Labs
FarachCarson Cindy Farach-Carson
Ralph and Dorothy Looney Professor
BCB
713-348-5052
farachca@rice.edu
1017 BRC
scott Scott Egan
Assistant Professor
EEB
713-348-2334
scott.p.egan@rice.edu
103A Anderson Biological Labs
Gustin Michael C. Gustin
Professor
BCB
713-348-5158
gustin@rice.edu
W200G George R. Brown Hall
Kirienko Natasha Kirienko
Assistant Professor
CPRIT Scholar in Cancer Research
BCB
713-348-2581
kirienko@rice.edu
W200N GRB Hall
mkohn Michael Kohn 
Associate Professor
EEB/SSPB
713-348-3779
hmkohn@rice.edu
205A Anderson Biological Labs
Lwigale Peter Lwigale
Associate Professor
BCB
713-348-6785
lwigale@rice.edu
339 Anderson Biological Labs
Matthews Kathleen S. Matthews
Stewart Memorial Professor
BCB
713-348-4871
ksm@rice.edu
203 Keck Hall
McNew James A. McNew
Professor
BCB
713-348-3133
mcnew@rice.edu
713 Biosci Res Collaborative
miller Tom Miller
Assistant Professor
EEB
713-348-4218
tom.miller@rice.edu
119 Anderson Biological Labs
Nikonowicz Edward P. Nikonowicz
Associate Professor
BCB
713-348-4912
edn@rice.edu
313 Keck Hall
Olson John S. Olson
Ralph and Dorothy Looney Professor
BCB
713-348-4762
olson@rice.edu
309 Keck Hall
Constantinou Pamela E. Constantinou Papadopoulos
Faculty Fellow
713-348-5073
pamela.constantinou@rice.edu
E101 GRB Hall
phillips2 George N. Phillips, Jr.
Ralph and Dorothy Looney Professor
Associate Dean for Research

BCB/SSPB
713-348-6951
georgep@rice.edu
W200Q George R. Brown Hall
volker Volker Rudolf
Associate Professor
Associate Chair

EEB
713-348-2834
volker.rudolf@rice.edu
105A Anderson Biological Labs
JuliaSaltz Julia Saltz
Assistant Professor
BCB/EEB
713-348-4716
julia.b.saltz@rice.edu
209B Anderson Biological Labs
Shamoo Yousif Shamoo
Professor
Vice Provost for Research

713-348-5493
BCB/EEB/SSPB
shamoo@rice.edu
332 Keck Hall
ESiemann Evan Siemann
Harry C. & Olga K. Wiess Professor
Associate Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

713-348-5954
EEB
siemann@rice.edu
101A Anderson Biological Labs
Silberg Jonathan Silberg
Associate Professor
BCB/SSPB
713-348-3849
joff@rice.edu
209 Keck Hall
Stern Michael Stern
Professor
713-348-5351
BCB
stern@rice.edu
715 Biosci Res Collaborative
Stewart Charles R. Stewart
Professor
713-348-4926
BCB
crs@rice.edu
W104George R. Brown Hall
Tao Yizhi Jane Tao
Associate Professor
BCB
713-348-4910
ytao@rice.edu
326 Keck Hall
Wagner Daniel Wagner
Associate Professor
BCB
713-348-5933
dswagner@rice.edu
338 Anderson Biological Labs
Aryeh Aryeh Warmflash
Assistant Professor
CPRIT Scholar in Cancer Research
BCB/SSPB
aryeh.warmflash@rice.edu
344 Anderson Biological Labs
KellyWeinersmith Kelly Weinersmith
Huxley Fellow
klw5@rice.edu
211 Anderson Biological Labs
Zhong Weiwei Zhong
Assistant Professor
713-348-2307
BCB/SSPB
weiwei.zhong@rice.edu
W200P George R. Brown Hall
zhu Kai Zhu
Huxley Fellow
kai.zhu@rice.edu
211 Anderson Biological Labs
   
Teaching Faculty
Beason Beth Beason Abmayr
Professor in the Practice
713-348-2535
bbeason@rice.edu
326 Anderson Biological Labs
Catanese Jamie Catanese
Faculty Lecturer
djc98@rice.edu
221H Anderson Biological Labs
Caprette David R. Caprette
Teaching Professor 
713-348-3498
caprette@rice.edu
327 Anderson Biological Labs
adrienne Adrienne MS Correa
Faculty Lecturer
713-348-3054
ac53@rice.edu
130C Anderson Biological Labs
Eich Liz Eich
Professor in the Practice
713-348-6144
lizmc@rice.edu
342 Anderson Biological Labs
Alma_web Alma Novotny
Faculty Lecturer
713-348-4015
novotnya@rice.edu
W105 George R. Brown Hall
Phillips Dereth Phillips
Faculty Lecturer
713-348-2343
derethp@rice.edu
340 Anderson Biological Labs
PURUGGANAN_Mary_100 Mary Purugganan
Faculty Lecturer
713-348-6128
maryp@rice.edu
341 Anderson Biological Labs
solomon Scott Solomon 
Professor in Practice 
scott.solomon@rice.edu
713-348-2661
130D Anderson Biological Labs
   
Joint Faculty
IGOSHIN_Oleg Oleg Igoshin
Associate Professor
713-348-5502
oleg.igoshin@rice.edu
767 BioSci Res Collaborative
Levine.jpg Herbert Levine
Professor
713-348-5869
herbert.levine@rice.edu
1005D Biosci Research Collaborative
Caroline Masiello
Associate Professor
713-348-5234
masiello@rice.edu
206 Keith-Wiess Geology Labs
Kirstin Renee Matthews
Senior Baker Institute Fellow
713-348-4784
krwm@rice.edu
280 Baker Hall
Matsuda Seiichi P.T. Matsuda
E. Dell Butcher Professor;
713-348-6158;
matsuda@rice.edu
W300E George R. Brown Hall
McClendon George McLendon
Professor
713-348-4026
mclendon@rice.edu
411 Allen Center
Nakhleh Luay Nakhleh
Associate Professor
713-348-3959
nakhleh@rice.edu
3119 Duncan Hall
Onuchic.jpg José Onuchic
Professor
713-348-4197
jonuchic@rice.edu
239 BRK
Segatori Laura Segatori
Associate Professor
713-348-3536
segatori@rice.edu
313 BRC
Suh Junghae Suh
Associate Professor
713-348-2853
jsuh@rice.edu
BRC, Suite 819
Tabor Jeffrey J. Tabor
Assistant Professor
713-348-8316
jeff.tabor@rice.edu
BRC, Suite 821
Wolynes.jpg Peter Wolynes
D.R. Bullard-Welch Foundation
Cell Biology

713-348-4082
pwolynes@rice.edu
1005E Biosci Res Collaborative
Emeritus Faculty
Name Phone Email
(@rice.edu)
Office
Frank Fisher 713-348-4917 fisher 203B Anderson Biology
Raymon Glantz   rmg  
Paul Harcombe   harcomb   
Jordan Konisky 608-203-6113    
Graham Palmer 713-348-4860 graham W102 GRB Hall
Ronald J. Parry 713-348-2446   parry   E200D George R. Brown Hall
David C. Queller   queller@wustl.edu Washington University in St. Louis
Joan E. Strassmann   strassmann@wustl.edu Washington University in St. Louis
Ronald Sass   sass 170 Anderson Biological Lab
Stephen Subtelny 713-348-4923   parry   215AB Anderson Biology
Calvin H. Ward   wardch  

Adjunct Faculty
Richard Behringer, Baylor College of Medicine
Sarah Bondos, Texas A & M University Health Science Center
Nikki Delk, University of Texas at Dallas
J. David Dickman, Baylor College of Medicine
Robert O. Fox, University of Houston
Haichun Gao, Zhejiang University
Jeffrey Glassberg, North American Butterfly Association
Richard H. Gomer, Texas A & M University
Nancy Greig, Houston Museum of Natural Science
Maria Hartley, Chevron
Kendal Hirschi, Baylor College of Medicine
Kresimir Josic, University of Houston
Olivier Lichtarge, Baylor College of Medicine
Jianpeng Ma, Baylor College of Medicine
Paolo Moretti, Baylor College of Medicine
Joseph R. Novak, Texas A & M University
Jordan S. Orange, Baylor College of Medicine
Timothy Palzkill, Baylor College of Medicine
Debananda Pati, Baylor College of Medicine
Neal Pellis, NASA
Florante Quiocho, Baylor College of Medicine
Susan Rosenberg, Baylor College of Medicine
Clarence Sams, NASA
Shelley Sazer, Baylor College of Medicine
Yigong Shi, Tsinghua University School of Medicine
Doris Taylor, Texas Heart Institute
Ah-Lim Tsai, University of Texas Health Science Center
Theodore G. Wensel, Baylor College of Medicine
Peggy Whitson, NASA
Zheng Zhou, Baylor College of Medicine
Huda Zoghbi, Baylor College of Medicine